Red Dot Award: Communication Design

The origins of the Red Dot Design Award date back to 1955. The institution behind the competition is the Design Zentrum NRW, which is led by Professor Dr. Peter Zec since 1991. Its distinction, the Red Dot, is established internationally as one of the most sought-after quality marks for good design. In order to assess the diversity in the field of design in a thorough and professional manner, the award breaks down into three disciplines: the Red Dot Award: Product Design, Red Dot Award: Communication Design and Red Dot Award: Design Concept – each award is organised once a year. From products to communication projects and packaging to design concepts and prototypes, the Red Dot Award tracks the most prominent trends worldwide.

Since 1993, the Red Dot Award: Communication Design, known as the “Deutscher Preis für Kommunikationsdesign” (German Prize for Communication Design) until 2001, is hosted annually by the Design Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen. It is geared to agencies, designers and companies from around the world. In 18 categories, they can enter their works, which will be evaluated by the Red Dot jury. A winning work receives the distinction “Red Dot”, while outstanding entries get the Red Dot: Best of the Best. Only the best piece of work in a category receives the top award “Red Dot: Grand Prix”. Part of the Red Dot Award: Communication Design is the Red Dot: Junior Award. It is intended for up and coming young designers (up to two years post-graduation). The Red Dot: Junior Prize is endowed with 10,000 Euros and goes to the best project.

Evaluation

The works and projects submitted in the Red Dot Award: Communication Design are assessed by the Red Dot jury. Following the motto “In search of good design and creativity”, the international experts evaluate all of the entries live and in situ. The works are not compared directly against each other, and no preselection takes place. Each project is discussed and assessed individually and on its own merits. The most important information on the registration and ideal presentation of your work during the jury session can be found in the “Guides to Success”.

The jury session is aligned according to established evaluation criteria, which are constantly being adapted to new knowledge about technical, social, economic and ecological requirements. These criteria are the frame, which is filled out individually by each juror.

These include design quality and aesthetics to check whether an independent, high-quality design concept is recognisable, the implementation as well as the chosen medium. The functional and aesthetic aspects of the work, such as originality and recognition value also play a role.

Besides the individual handwriting of the projects, the jury looks at clarity and emotion: Is the message adequately and geared towards the target groups? Does the work affect the viewer in an emotional and sustainable way? Not forgetting craft and, depending on the type of work, haptic of the project: How is it technically implemented and is the choice of materials appropriate? Only projects that win over the jury with their overall quality and creative achievement are awarded the Red Dot seal. The winners benefit from comprehensive services, which are part of the Winner Package and include among others the usage of the winner label, the presentation in the yearbook and winners’ exhibition.

Red Dot Award: Communication Design

Die Ursprünge des Red Dot Design Awards reichen bis ins Jahr 1955 zurück. Die Institution hinter dem Wettbewerb ist das Design Zentrum NRW, das seit 1991 von Prof. Dr. Peter Zec geleitet wird. Die Auszeichnung, der „Red Dot“, hat sich international als eines der begehrtesten Qualitätssiegel für gute Gestaltung etabliert. Um die Vielfalt im Bereich Design fachgerecht bewerten zu können, unterteilt sich der Award in drei Wettbewerbe: den Red Dot Award: Product Design, Red Dot Award: Communication Design und Red Dot Award: Design Concept – jeder Wettbewerb wird einmal pro Jahr organisiert. Von Produkten über Kommunikationsprojekte und Verpackungen bis hin zu Designkonzepten und Prototypen bildet der Red Dot Award die weltweit prägnantesten Trends ab.

Der Red Dot Award: Communication Design, bis 2001 bekannt als „Deutscher Preis für Kommunikationsdesign“, wird seit 1993 jährlich ausgerichtet und wendet sich an Agenturen, Designer und Unternehmen aus aller Welt. In 18 Kategorien können sie ihre Arbeiten einreichen, die von der Red Dot-Jury evaluiert werden. Eine siegreiche Arbeit erhält die Auszeichnung „Red Dot“, die herausragenden Einreichungen werden mit dem Red Dot: Best of the Best bedacht; und nur die beste Arbeit einer Kategorie wird mit dem Red Dot: Grand Prix prämiert. Der Red Dot: Junior Award ist Teil des Red Dot Award: Communication Design und richtet sich an Nachwuchsdesigner (bis zwei Jahre nach Abschluss). Der mit 10.000 Euro dotierte Red Dot: Junior Prize geht an die beste Arbeit.

Evaluierung

Die zum Red Dot Award: Communication Design eingereichten Arbeiten und Projekte werden von der Red Dot-Jury bewertet. Dem Leitmotiv „In search of good design and creativity“ folgend, begutachten die internationalen Experten sämtliche Einreichungen live und vor Ort. Dabei stehen die Arbeiten nicht im direkten Vergleich zueinander und es erfolgt auch keine Vorauswahl. Jedes Projekt wird einzeln und individuell diskutiert und bewertet. Die wichtigsten Informationen zur Anmeldung und optimalen Präsentation Ihrer Arbeit während der Jurierung finden Sie in den „Guides to Success“.

Die Jurierung erfolgt unter Berücksichtigung festgelegter Beurteilungskriterien, die stets neuen Erkenntnissen über technische, gesellschaftliche, ökonomische und ökologische Anforderungen angepasst werden. Diese Kriterien bilden den Orientierungsrahmen, der von den einzelnen Juroren individuell ausgefüllt wird. Dazu zählen beispielsweise Gestaltungsqualität und Ästhetik, um zu prüfen, ob ein eigenständiges, qualitatives Gestaltungskonzept erkennbar ist, 

die jeweilige Umsetzung sowie das gewählte Medium übereinstimmen. Auch die funktional-ästhetischen Gesichtspunkte der Arbeit, wie Originalität und Wiedererkennungswert, spielen eine Rolle.

Neben der eigenen Handschrift der Projekte achten die Juroren auch auf die Bereiche Klarheit und Emotion: Wird die Botschaft adäquat und zielgruppengerecht vermittelt? Berührt die Arbeit den Betrachter emotional und nachhaltig? Nicht zu vergessen Handwerk und je nach Art der Arbeit Haptik des jeweiligen Projekts: Wie ist es gestalterisch umgesetzt und ist die Materialwahl zweckerfüllend? Ausschließlich Projekte, die mit ihrer Gestaltungsqualität und kreativen Leistung überzeugen, werden mit dem Red Dot-Siegel prämiert. Die Preisträger profitieren von umfassenden Leistungen, die Teil des Winner Packages sind und unter anderem die Nutzung des Siegerlabels, die Präsentation im Jahrbuch und in der Siegerausstellung umfassen.