20170328_Junior_Header-2

Red Dot: Junior Award

Part of the Red Dot Award: Communication Design is the Red Dot: Junior Award, which is intended for up and coming young designers. Apprentices, students and young professionals (up to two years post-graduation) run the chance to apply for the distinction “Red Dot” with their works in 18 categories.

The talents must show proof of their apprenticeship, a student identity card or a copy of their diploma in order to get a 20% discount on the registration fee. They can enter projects, regardless of the date of origin.

Besides the distinctions “Red Dot” and “Red Dot: Best of the Best”, the jury  awards the “Red Dot: Junior Prize”, endowed with 10,000 Euros. It goes to the best project of an up and coming young designer.

Morover, all laureates of the Red Dot: Junior Award receive a 40% discount on the Winner Package. It includes the presentation in the yearbook, in the Winners’ Exhibition, online and in the Red Dot App.

Especially young designers have fresh ideas and produce outstanding creative works. Therefore, the Red Dot: Junior Award aims at providing creative young professionals a successful start into the world of design and to make access to the industry and agencies easier for new talents. Being awarded with the Red Dot gives them the opportunity to communicate their success towards the media. This is why the participation in the competition is a great chance to strengthen the trust of potential clients in the creative achievements of young talents.

More information about Red Dot: Junior Award

Costs:

Evaluation:

FAQs:

  • popup-faq

    Who can participate in the Red Dot: Junior Award?

    The Red Dot: Junior Award is a separate competition that is nevertheless organised in the framework of the Red Dot Award: Communication Design. It is open to students from universities, other institutions of higher learning and vocational schools, as well as to young designers who have graduated within the last two years. Applicants must show proof of enrolment in an institution of higher learning or vocational school or a copy of their diploma. Unlike the Red Dot Award: Communication Design, the date of origin of the submitted work is irrelevant for this competition.

    Is there just one winner out of the Red Dot: Junior Award?

    Everyone participating in the Red Dot: Junior Award has the same chance as every other participant for his work to be awarded with the Red Dot or the Red Dot: Best of the Best. The participant with the most convincing project of the competition’s year furthermore receives the “Red Dot: Junior Prize”, 10,000 EUR to launch their career as well as special mention in Red Dot exhibitions and press releases.

    How can I enter my work in the Red Dot: Junior Award?

    Our „How to Enter“ video explains the whole registration process for the Red Dot Award: Communication Design step by step.

    Here you can find an overview of all our categories and our Guides to Success in nine different languages. In our Guides to Success the whole registration process for each category is explained in detail in order to be able to register your work successfully.

    How is my work going to be judged?

    The junior works will be judged within the framework of the Red Dot Award: Communication Design like all other projects. However, the judges will be informed when it comes to junior works. After all decisions have been made and all awards have been given, the winner of Red Dot: Junior Prize will be chosen out of all Red Dot: Best of the Best winners. Each juror must give his or her vote.

    How can I ask my university for support?

    Unfortunately, it‘s not always that easy for students to get support from universities. In case your university wants to support your submission, we are happy to answer any questions or provide more information.

    In case you have any further questions, contact us via email (cd@red-dot.de) or by phone: +49 201 30104 49

  • Participation fees 2017

    20% Junior Award-discount included:

    Early Bird

    (27 February – 2 April 2017)

    156.00 EUR*, net | 185.64 EUR, incl. VAT

    Regular

    (3 April – 14 May 2017)

    196.00 EUR*, net | 232.24 EUR, incl. VAT

    Latecomer

    (15 May – 9 June 2017)

    252.00 EUR*, net | 299.88 EUR, incl. VAT

    *All prices are subject to statutory VAT in Germany.

    The following services are included in the participation fees:

    1. Acceptance and storage
    2. preparation of a jury dossier
    3. preparation of the information on the project
    4. presentation of the project during the jury session and, in the case of an award, storage until the special exhibition.

    Optional costs
    (return):

    95,00 EUR*, net | 113,05 EUR, incl. VAT

    *All prices are subject to statutory VAT in Germany.

    This fee includes the insurance for the work during shipping, insofar as the insurable value of the work was indicated on the application.

    Costs in case of an award

    40% Junior Award-discount included:

    Red Dot Standard

    985.00 EUR*, net | 1,172.15 EUR, incl. VAT

    Red Dot Extended

    1,293.00 EUR*, net | 1,538.67 EUR, incl. VAT

    Red Dot: Best of the Best

    1,395.00 EUR*, net | 1,660.05 EUR, incl. VAT

    *All prices are subject to statutory VAT in Germany.

    Winner Package service:

    1. Press service
    2. Red Dot Winner label
    3. 2 winners’ certificates
    4. 1 Red Dot Trophy (for Red Dot: Best of the Best winners)
    5. Presentation in the winners’ exhibition in Berlin
    6. Exhibition in the context of Red Dot on Tour
    7. Publication in the International Yearbook Communication Design 2016/2017
    8. Complimentary copy of the yearbook
    9. Online presentation
    10. Presentation in the Red Dot App
    11. Video clip of the awarded project (for Red Dot: Best of the Best winners)
  • Red Dot: Junior Prize

  • popup-junior

    The Red Dot: Junior Prize is given to the best work of a trainee, student or young designer of a competition’s year. The objective is to facilitate their access to the professional world, allowing them to convince potential clients of their own skills as early as possible.

    The software company Adobe is sponsor of the „Red Dot: Junior Prize 2015“. The worldwide leading manufacturer for digital solutions will sponsor the prize money of 10,000 Euro or the distinction. Red Dot and Adobe share the view that training creative approaches as early as possible to the challenges of today’s working world is a decisive factor for economic and professional success. The sponsorship partnership aims to enhance this involvement so that new ideas can result in the solutions of the future.

    “In all Red Dot competitions, we promote the real professionals amongst the young talents. Consequently, the Red Dot: Junior Prize goes only to those up-andcoming designers who have already demonstrated their outstanding abilities with a Red Dot: Best of the Best. It is in the period between finishing academic education and getting the first full-time job that sponsorship is most urgently needed and can be put to its best use. I am thrilled about the involvement of Adobe, a company that has also been associated with good design on an international level for decades. The Red Dot Design Award has thus acquired an ideal sponsor and partner that has a strong reputation in the industry while at the same time being independent from the competition” (Professor Dr Peter Zec, founder and CEO of Red Dot)

    adobe-logo

  • Why to take part?

  • popup-why-to-take-part

    The decision to take part in the competition is far more difficult for young designers than for „professionals“. Sometimes, the award costs or uncertainty about the presentation of their works discourage young talents to take part in the competition. Therefore, the Red Dot: Junior Award offers a discount on all junior submissions and winner packages. Mustafa Karakaş, former winner of the Red Dot: Junior Prize, knows why it‘s totally worth it to participate:

    „Until now, reactions have only been positive. At the Red Dot Gala many designers congratulated me. Also many designers from other countries like Singapore or the UK were impressed by my work. Even today, I get many phone calls and messages from galleries, companies and associations who want to congratulate me and offer me collaborations.“

    „Young professionals and up-and-coming talents should definitely hand in their works in competitions. So you have the chance to check if you can convince others with your works and if you can keep up with renowned designers and agencies, already at an early stage. It is a perfect door opener and makes the career start a lot easier. It pushes your self-esteem. Students should not have any scruples to participate and hand in their projects. And in your portfolio it is that “extra something “.

    Read the whole interview here

20170328_Junior_Header-2

Red Dot: Junior Award

Der Red Dot: Junior Award ist Teil des Red Dot Award: Communication Design und richtet sich an Nachwuchsdesigner. Auszubildende, Studenten und Young Professionals (bis 2 Jahre nach Abschluss), haben die Möglichkeit, sich mit ihren Arbeiten in 18 Kategorien  um die Auszeichnung  mit dem Red Dot zu bewerben.

Mit einer Kopie des Auszubildenden- bzw. Studentenausweises oder des Abschlussdiploms, können die Talente zum vergünstigten Tarif am Wettbewerb teilnehmen: Sie erhalten 20 % Ermäßigung auf die Anmeldegebühren. Eingereicht werden können Projekte unabhängig von ihrem Entstehungsdatum.

Neben den Auszeichnungen „Red Dot“ und „Red Dot: Best of the Best“ wird von der Jury der mit 10.000 Euro dotierte „Red Dot: Junior Prize“ vergeben – an die beste Arbeit eines Nachwuchsdesigners.

Darüber hinaus erhalten sämtliche Preisträger im Red Dot: Junior Award 40 % Ermäßigung auf das Winner Package. Das umfasst die Präsentation im Jahrbuch, in der Siegerausstellung, online und in der Red Dot App.

Gerade junge Designer haben frische Ideen und bringen hervorragende Kreativarbeiten hervor. Das Ziel des Red Dot: Junior Awards ist es, dem kreativen Nachwuchs einen gelungenen Start in die Designwelt ermöglichen und neuen Talenten den Zugang zur Industrie und der Agenturwelt zu erleichtern. Eine Auszeichnung mit dem Red Dot gibt ihnen die Möglichkeit, ihre Erfolge medienwirksam zu kommunizieren. Die Teilnahme am Wettbewerb ist somit eine ausgezeichnete Möglichkeit, um das Vertrauen potentieller Auftraggeber in die kreativen Leistungen der Nachwuchstalente zu stärken.

Mehr Informationen zum Red Dot: Junior Award

Kosten:

CD_Micro_Kachel_tnb

Evaluierung:

FAQs:

  • popup-faqWas ist der Red Dot: Junior Award?

    Der Red Dot: Junior Award ist Teil des Red Dot Award: Communication Design und richtet sich an Nachwuchsdesigner (bis zwei Jahre nach Abschluss). Der mit 10.000 Euro dotierte Red Dot: Junior Prize geht an die beste Arbeit.

    Wer kann am Red Dot: Junior Award teilnehmen?

    Am Red Dot: Junior Award können Nachwuchsdesigner (bis zwei Jahre nach Abschluss) teilnehmen. Als Nachweis gilt die Kopie des Auszubildenden- bzw. Studentenausweises oder des Abschlussdiploms.

    Was kann zum Red Dot: Junior Award eingereicht werden?

    Zum Red Dot: Junior Award können Arbeiten und Projekte in 18 Kategorien  des Kommunikationsdesigns angemeldet werden, unabhängig vom Entstehungs- bzw. Veröffentlichungszeitpunkt.

    Wie melde ich meine Arbeit zum Red Dot: Junior Award an?

    Sie können Ihre Arbeit in vier Schritten über das My Red Dot-Portal anmelden . Wie dies funktioniert erklärt unser „How to Enter“-Video. Weitere Informationen zur Anmeldung finden Sie in den auf die jeweilige Kategorie zugeschnittenen „Guides to Success“.

    Wie wird meine Arbeit bewertet?

    Die Projekte von Teilnehmern am Red Dot: Junior Award werden von der Red Dot Jury  evaluiert. Die Juroren werden explizit darauf hingewiesen, dass es sich um die Arbeit eines Nachwuchsdesigners handelt. Die internationalen Experten begutachten sämtliche Einreichungen live und vor Ort. Dabei stehen die Arbeiten nicht im direkten Vergleich zueinander und es erfolgt auch keine Vorauswahl. Jedes Projekt wird einzeln und individuell evaluiert. Aus allen Projekten, die im Red Dot: Junior Award mit dem Red Dot: Best of the Best ausgezeichnet wurden, wird zum Abschluss der Jury Session die beste Arbeit gewählt. Sie erhält den Red Dot: Junior Prize.

    Wird nur ein Nachwuchsdesigner ausgezeichnet?

    Alle Teilnehmer am Red Dot: Junior Award haben die gleichen Chancen mit dem Red Dot oder dem Red Dot: Best of the Best ausgezeichnet zu werden. Der Nachwuchsdesigner mit dem überzeugendsten Projekt erhält zudem den Ehrentitel „Red Dot: Junior Prize“ und ein Preisgeld in Höhe von 10.000 Euro.

    Wie kann mich meine Universität bei der Teilnahme unterstützen?

    Es ist leider nicht immer selbstverständlich, dass Universitäten Ihren Studenten finanzielle Unterstützung anbieten. Falls sich Ihre Universität dazu entscheidet, Sie zu unterstützen, freuen wir uns und bieten Ihnen gerne weiteren Support bei allen Fragen.

    Sie haben weitere Fragen? Schreiben Sie uns eine E-Mail an cd(at)red-dot.de  oder rufen Sie uns an: +49 201 30104–49.

  • Kosten bei Anmeldung 2017

    20% Junior Award-Rabatt wurde bereits berücksichtigt:

    Early Bird

    (27. Februar – 2. April 2017)

    156,00 EUR*, netto | 185,64 EUR, brutto

    Regular

    (3. April – 14. Mai 2017)

    196,00 EUR*, netto | 232,24 EUR, brutto

    Latecomer

    (15. Mai – 9. Juni 2017)

    252,00 EUR*, netto | 299,88 EUR, brutto

    *Die genannten Preise gelten zzgl. der gesetzlich geschuldeten Umsatzsteuer.

    In den Teilnahmekosten enthaltene Leistungen:

    1. Annahme und Einlagerung
    2. Aufbereitung eines Jury-Dossiers
    3. Aufbereitung der Informationen zum Projekt
    4. Präsentation des Projektes während der Jury-Session und im Falle einer Auszeichnung: Einlagerung bis zur Sonderausstellung.

    Kosten für optionale Leistungen
    (Rückversand):

    95,00 EUR*, netto | 113,05 EUR, brutto

    *Die Preise gelten zzgl. der gesetzlich geschuldeten Umsatzsteuer

    Die Gebühr für die Rücksendung beinhaltet ebenfalls die Versicherung des Exponats während des Rückversands, wenn die Versicherungssumme des Exponats bei der Anmeldung angegeben wurde..

    Kosten bei einer Auszeichnung

    40% Junior Award-Rabatt wurde bereits berücksichtigt:

    Red Dot Standard

    985,00 EUR*, netto | 1.172,15 EUR, brutto

    Red Dot Extended

    1.293,00 EUR*, netto | 1.538,67 EUR, brutto

    Red Dot: Best of the Best

    1.395,00 EUR*, netto | 1.660,05 EUR, brutto

    *Die genannten Preise gelten zzgl. der gesetzlich geschuldeten Umsatzsteuer.

    Im Winner Package enthaltene Leistungen:

    1. Presse-Service
    2. Red Dot-Siegerlabel
    3. 2 Siegerurkunden
    4. 1 Red Dot Trophy (für Red Dot: Best of the Best-Preisträger)
    5. Präsentation in der Siegerausstellung in Berlin
    6. Ausstellung im Rahmen von Red Dot on Tour
    7. Veröffentlichung im International Yearbook Communication Design 2016/2017
    8. Belegexemplar des Jahrbuchs
    9. Online-Präsentation
    10. Videoclip des Siegerprojekts (für Red Dot: Best of the Best-Preisträger)
    11. Darstellung in der Red Dot App

    Darüber hinaus haben alle Sieger die Möglichkeit, optionale Erweiterungen für ihre Präsentation im Jahrbuch zu buchen oder weitere Kommunikationsmittel (z.B. Aufkleber, Aufsteller, etc.) zu bestellen.

  • Red Dot: Junior Prize

  • popup-junior

    Der Red Dot: Junior Prize wird an die weltweit beste Arbeit eines Auszubildenden, Studenten oder Jungdesigners im laufenden Wettbewerb vergeben und ist mit 10.000 Euro dotiert. Ziel ist es, den Einstieg in die Berufswelt zu erleichtern und potentielle Auftraggeber so früh wie möglich von den eigenen Fähigkeiten überzeugen zu können.

    Das Software-Unternehmen Adobe wird 2015 exklusiver Sponsor des Red Dot: Junior Prize. Der weltweit führende Anbieter für kreative Lösungen im Bereich digitales Marketing und digitale Medien unterstützt die Auszeichnung, die im Rahmen des Red Dot Award: Communication Design verliehen wird. Red Dot und Adobe verbindet die Auffassung, dass eine frühestmögliche Schulung kreativer Herangehensweisen an die Herausforderungen der heutigen Arbeitswelt entscheidend für wirtschaftlichen sowie beruflichen Erfolg ist. Die Sponsoring-Partnerschaft will dieses Engagement stärken, so dass aus neuen Ideen die Lösungen der Zukunft werden.

    „Wir fördern in allen Red Dot-Wettbewerben die echten Profis unter den jungen Talenten. So geht der Red Dot: Junior Prize ausschließlich an jene Nachwuchsgestalter, die mit einem Red Dot: Best of the Best bereits ihr herausragendes Können demonstriert haben. An der Schwelle zwischen akademischer Ausbildung und erstem Full-Time-Job wird Fördergeld am dringendsten benötigt und am sinnvollsten eingesetzt. Über das Engagement von Adobe – gleichfalls seit Jahrzehnten international mit gutem Design assoziiert – freue ich mich sehr. Der Red Dot Design Award hat hier einen idealen, weil in der Branche hoch angesehenen und zugleich vom Wettbewerb unabhängigen Sponsor und Partner erhalten.“ (Professor Dr. Peter Zec, Initiator und CEO von Red Dot)

    adobe-logo

  • Why to take part?

  • popup-why-to-take-part

    Die Entscheidung am Wettbewerb teilzunehmen ist für Nachwuchsdesigner oftmals schwieriger zu treffen als für „Professionals“. Oft sind die anfallenden Kosten oder einfach die Unsicherheit die eigene Arbeit zu präsentieren, Gründe für eine Nicht-Teilnahme. Mit dem Red Dot: Junior Award wird jungen Kreativen die Chance geboten, zu günstigen Konditionen Ihre Projekte einzureichen, ihr Können unter Beweis zu stellen und schließlich die Plattform von Red Dot für sich zu nutzen. Warum es sich lohnt an dem Wettbewerb teilzunehmen, weiß beispielsweise Mustafa Karakaş, ehemaliger Gewinner des Red Dot: Junior Prize.

    „Bis jetzt habe ich nur positive Resonanzen erhalten. Auf der Red Dot Gala in Berlin kamen viele Designer auf mich zu und haben mir gratuliert. Auch viele Designer aus anderen Ländern wie Singapur oder England waren beeindruckt von meiner Arbeit. Auch heute noch bekomme ich viele Anrufe und Nachrichten von Galerien, Firmen und Vereinen die mir gratulieren und eine Zusammenarbeit anbieten.“

    „Young Professionals und Nachwuchstalente sollten ihre Arbeiten auf jeden Fall bei Wettbewerben einreichen. Somit hat man die Möglichkeit früh genug zu sehen, ob man mit den eigenen Arbeiten andere überzeugen kann und mit großen Designern und Agenturen mithalten kann. Es ist ein sehr guter Türöffner und erleichtert auf jeden Fall den Einstieg in die Praxis. Außerdem wird das Selbstbewusstsein gesteigert. Studenten sollten keine Hemmungen haben ihre Arbeiten anderen zu zeigen. Und für das Portfolio ist es auch ein Plus.“

    Lesen Sie das ganze Interview hier