Red Dot Award: Product Design

The origins of the Red Dot Design Award date back to 1955. The institution behind the competition is the Design Zentrum NRW, which is led by Professor Dr. Peter Zec since 1991. Its distinction, the Red Dot, is established internationally as one of the most sought-after quality marks for good design. In order to assess the diversity in the field of design in a thorough and professional manner, the award breaks down into three diciplines: the Red Dot Award: Product Design, Red Dot Award: Communication Design and Red Dot Award: Design Concept. Each award is organised once a year. From products to communication projects and packaging to design concepts and prototypes, the Red Dot Award tracks the most prominent trends worldwide.

With the help of the jury, the internationally organised competition “Red Dot Award: Product Design” appraises the best products of the year. In 48 categories, manufacturers and designers can enter their innovations. The jury only awards a Red Dot to products with a high design quality. The best products of a category are awarded the “Red Dot: Best of the Best” while entries which impress with a well-thought-out detail solution are awarded with the “Honourable Mention”.

 

Young talents are encouraged to a special degree: On the Young Professionals Application Day, graduates of design courses, who have obtained their academic qualifications within the past five years, have the opportunity to take part in the draw for one of 50 free registrations. In addition to the registration for the competition, the up-and-coming talents will be provided with comprehensive free benefits if they win an award.

It is a tradition to honour the laureates at the grand awards ceremony, the Red Dot Gala. The award-winning products will be displayed amongst others in the Red Dot Design Museums, the Online Presentation and in the Red Dot Design Yearbook. By featuring the sought-after winner label in their own marketing and communications, the laureates can distinguish themselves from their competitors.

Red Dot Award: Product Design

Die Ursprünge des Red Dot Design Awards reichen bis ins Jahr 1955 zurück. Die Institution hinter dem Wettbewerb ist das Design Zentrum NRW, das seit 1991 von Prof. Dr. Peter Zec geleitet wird. Die Auszeichnung, der „Red Dot“, hat sich international als eines der begehrtesten Qualitätssiegel für gute Gestaltung etabliert. Um die Vielfalt im Bereich Design fachgerecht bewerten zu können, unterteilt sich der Award in drei Disziplinen: den Red Dot Award: Product Design, Red Dot Award: Communication Design und Red Dot Award: Design Concept – jeder Wettbewerb wird einmal pro Jahr organisiert. Von Produkten über Kommunikationsprojekte und Verpackungen bis hin zu Designkonzepten und Prototypen bildet der Red Dot Award die weltweit prägnantesten Trends ab.

Der international ausgeschriebene Wettbewerb „Red Dot Award: Product Design“ ermittelt mithilfe seiner Jury die besten Produkte des Jahres. In 47 Kategorien können Hersteller und Gestalter ihre Entwürfe einreichen. Ein siegreiches Produkt erhält die Auszeichnung „Red Dot“, die besten Produkte einer Kategorie werden mit dem „Red Dot: Best of the Best“ bedacht. Einreichungen, die mit einer gut durchdachten Detaillösung überzeugen, werden mit der „Honourable Mention“ geehrt.

Junge Talente werden in besonderem Maße unterstützt: Am Young Professionals Application Day haben ausgebildete Designer, deren Abschluss nicht länger als fünf Jahre zurückliegt, die Möglichkeit, sich für die Verlosung von einem der 50 kostenfreien Anmeldeplätze zu bewerben. Neben der Teilnahme am Wettbewerb profitieren sie im Fall einer Auszeichnung von umfangreichen, kostenfreien Benefits.

Die ausgezeichneten Preisträger werden traditionell auf der großen Preisverleihung, der Red Dot Gala, geehrt. Die Siegerprodukte werden unter anderem in den Red Dot Design Museen, in der Online-Präsentation und im Red Dot Design Yearbook vorgestellt. In der eigenen Kommunikation und im Marketing setzen die Preisträger das begehrte Siegerlabel ein, um sich von der Konkurrenz abzuheben.