Canyon Design Team

Red Dot: Design Team of the Year 2017

The title of honour “Red Dot: Design Team of the Year 2017” went to Koblenz: The Canyon Design Team was included in the “Hall of Fame” of international design for its consistent and unparalleled design performance as well as for the new impetus in the bike industry. In 2017 alone, two bicycles were awarded the top prize, the Red Dot: Best of the Best. Within the scope of the Red Dot Gala, the design team received the “Radius” challenge cup.

The core message “Pure Cycling” excellently reflects the design language of the bike manufacturer, founded in 1985 – with accentuated lines, clear edges and above all else a high level of systems integration, Canyon always endeavours to reduce the complex overall construct of a bicycle to the essentials. With the standard of creating “best in class” products, the designers do everything in their power to create innovative novelties and to question established rules. A good example for this is the company’s own “ShapeShifter” technology. This allows the rider to adjust the geometry of the bike to current riding conditions using a remote control on the handlebars.

Also in terms of testing standards and quality management, Canyon sets the absolute benchmark for the whole of the bicycle industry. With its in-house CT scanner that is unique in the industry, the company guarantees that the carbon components relevant for safety are 100% tested. This is because as a direct-to-consumer brand, Canyon sees quality as a commitment, and engages directly with its customers at eye level via direct marketing, purchasing advice over the phone and an online chat.

Prof. Dr. Peter Zec, founder and CEO of the Red Dot Award said: “I am delighted that this year’s ‘Red Dot: Design Team of the Year’ title of honour goes to Canyon, which has become a global player in the industry and has been filling our jury with enthusiasm for several years now. Canyon bikes show the potential a brand can develop when the focus is on the person, who is always searching for more than just a bike: namely a constant companion in the countryside or in the city, or as a professional athlete. This is achieved through the exemplary customer-focused design and by the unique production and sales structures.”

Canyon Design Team

Red Dot: Design Team of the Year 2017

Der Ehrentitel „Red Dot: Design Team of the Year 2017” ging nach Koblenz: Das Canyon Design Team wird für seine kontinuierlichen Gestaltungsleistungen auf höchstem Niveau und für seine neu gesetzten Impulse in der Fahrradbranche in die „Hall of Fame“ des internationalen Designs aufgenommen. Allein 2017 erhielten zwei Fahrräder die höchste Auszeichnung, den Red Dot: Best of the Best. Im Rahmen der Red Dot Gala nahm das Designteam die Wandertrophäe „Radius“ entgegen.

Die Kernbotschaft „Pure Cycling“ spiegelt die Designsprache des Fahrradherstellers, der im Jahr 1985 gegründet wurde, hervorragend wieder – mit deutlichen Linien, klaren Kanten und vor allem mit einem hohen Maß an Systemintegration strebt Canyon danach, das komplexe Gesamtkonstrukt eines Fahrrades auf das Wesentliche zu reduzieren. Mit dem Anspruch „Best in class“ setzen die Designer alles daran, innovative Neuheiten zu entwerfen und Bewährtes in Frage zu stellen. Ein gutes Beispiel hierfür stellt die hauseigene „ShapeShifter“-Technologie dar. Diese ermöglicht es dem Fahrer, die Geometrie seines Mountainbikes über eine Fernbedienung am Lenker der aktuellen Fahrsituation anzupassen.

Auch hinsichtlich Prüfstandards und Qualitätsmanagement setzt Canyon die absolute Benchmark in der gesamten Bike-Industrie: Mit dem branchenweit einzigartigen, firmeneigenen CT-Scanner gewährleistet das Unternehmen die 100%-Prüfung sicherheitsrelevanter Kohlefaser-Bauteile. Denn als „Direct-2-Consumer“-Brand versteht Canyon Qualität als eine Verbindlichkeit: Durch Direktvertrieb, telefonische Kaufberatung und den Online-Chat steht das Unternehmen mit seinen Kunden im unmittelbaren Dialog auf Augenhöhe.

Prof. Dr. Peter Zec, Initiator und CEO des Red Dot Awards: „Ich freue mich sehr, dass der Ehrentitel ‚Red Dot: Design Team of the Year‘ dieses Jahr an Canyon geht, die sich zu einem globalen Player in der Branche entwickelt haben und unsere Jury seit vielen Jahren begeistern. Canyon Bikes zeigen, welches Potenzial eine Marke entfalten kann, wenn der Mensch in den Mittelpunkt gestellt wird, der immer mehr sucht als nur ein Fahrrad: nämlich einen steten Begleiter, ob in der Natur, in der Stadt oder als Profisportler. Erreicht wird dies durch die vorbildhafte, auf den Kunden ausgerichtete Gestaltung sowie durch die einzigartigen Produktions- und Vertriebsstrukturen.”