Entry rules

 

Which products can I register?
You can enter every product that has been manufactured using an industrial production process. The market launch must have taken place by 1 July 2018 and cannot be more than two years ago as of the date of registration. One-off handcrafted pieces cannot take part in the competition. This year, you can choose from 48 categories – from home and seating furniture to lighting and lamps to fashion and lifestyle accessories as well as robotics.

 

Can I enter prototypes?

Prototypes are permitted provided that the product will be brought to market by 1 July 2018. The prototypes must already be functional and ready for series production at the time of judging. If the market launch is not taking place until a later date, we recommend that you register your prototypes for the Red Dot Award: Design Concept.

 

How many products can I register?

Each participant can register as many products as they wish. A separate registration must be completed for each entry.

 

Can I enter a product in several categories at the same time?

You can enter a product in several categories at the same time, but not in several sub-categories within one category. You must complete a separate registration for each entry and provide one product specimen and if necessary further presentation material for each entry.

 

Can I enter product series?

In exceptional cases, for example in the case of tableware or cutlery, product series can be grouped together as one entry. This means that you do not have to register each element of the series separately. In the event of winning an award, however, the Red Dot logo can only be used for those specimens presented to the jury. So if you plan to advertise a whole series with the award, you should present the jury with all of the elements in the series. The costs for each additional specimen amount to EUR 60.

 

Registration

 

Where can I register my product for the Red Dot Award: Product Design?

You can register for the current competition and complete the entry forms on the My Red Dot portal. You will also find a list of your entries as well as all documents needed for taking part in the competition there. You can cancel the registration at any time and continue it at a later stage.

 

What do I need to register my product for the Red Dot Award: Product Design?

To complete registration, you must enter general details on the respective product, details on the manufacturer and designer as well as invoice details. Furthermore, you have to upload photo material (300 dpi for DIN A4 size) and a product description (500 – 1,200 characters including spaces). Thereby, the general details are necessary to complete registration, while photo and text material can still be uploaded until 9 February 2018. A detailed checklist with all of the necessary details can be found here.

 

Which category should I choose?
If you are unsure which category to choose, take a look at our Online Presentation. You will find the winners from past years sorted by category there.

 

Which sub-category should I choose?

The sub-categories serve to break down the main categories and provide an overview of which products can be entered in the respective categories. Please note that products win an award in the main categories and not in the sub-categories.

 

What should be included in my product description?

To get an initial impression of a product, the Red Dot Jury receives an information sheet that contains the key details regarding your entry as well as a description. The description should therefore present your product briefly and objectively and explain in just a few sentences what makes the product unique. We recommend that you do not use figurative or flowery language and that you keep the description simple, precise and informative.

 

What does “additional material” mean?

It is possible to submit additional physical or digital material, such as photos or videos, to give the jury a better understanding of your product. Please consider that the additional material should not repeat information. The jury will only look at it on request. Further information on the costs for additional materials can be found here.

 

What does “additional exhibits” mean?

In order to present your product better to the jury, there is an option to submit additional exhibits. Additional costs are incurred for additional exhibits. You can find an overview here.

 

Dispatch & delivery

 

Where do I have to send my product for the adjudication?

After you registered your product in the My Red Dot portal for the Red Dot Award: Product Design, it has to be sent to our Red Dot Judging Hall. Please use the following address:

Design Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen e.V.
Red Dot Judging Hall
Witzlebenstr. 14
45472 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Please deliver vehicles to the airport in Mülheim an der Ruhr.

 

Who is my contact person on site?

Your contact person for logistics matters is Martin Mecklenbeck. You can reach him by phone at +49 208 37 77 787 or by e-mail at logistics@red-dot.de.

 

What is the correct EORI number?

Our EORI number is DE5870836.

 

When can I deliver my product?

Products that have to be put together must be delivered from 29 January to 1 February 2018. Products that are in a put-together or preassembled state must be delivered from 29 January to 16 February 2018. Delivery is possible from 10 am to 16 pm during the week. Please deliver vehicles to the airport in Mülheim an der Ruhr on 1 March 2018 until 8 am.

 

Who assembles my product?

The service provided by our logistics team is to receive deliveries and prepare them for adjudication in the best possible way. Please note that we will neither put together nor assemble the products. If it is not possible to deliver entries in a put-together or preassembled state, you must provide this service yourself. In this case you can already select the “Self-assembly” option during registration in the My Red Dot portal and dispatch your own team to put the entry together.

 

What do I have to take care of regarding the delivery?

Please note that your products must be delivered in a functional state so that the jury can test them. For logistic purposes of your submission, it is necessary to attach the PI code label to your product. Please declare your goods stating the correct customs tariff number and use a proforma invoice stating the value of your delivery.

 

What is the PI code and where can I find it?
After completing the registration, you will receive a confirmation e-mail containing the PI code label. This code is your personal identification number for your submitted product. Please provide this code in every e-mail request and keep it to hand for any telephone queries. You must attach the label to the back of a physical product and to the delivery packaging before dispatching the product. Make sure that the PI code can be removed without trace so that we can present the product in its best possible light in the winners’ exhibition if it wins an award.

 

What do I have to take care of regarding especially large products?

If you need a presentation space of more than 4 m³ for your product, please send a plan for your product presentation to our logistics department at logistics@red-dot.de. Information on the fees for oversized products can be found here.

 

Should I take out transport insurance?

The products/exhibits are transported at the risk and cost of the participant. We therefore urgently recommend that you take out transport insurance.

 

How can I ensure that my delivery does not get stuck in customs?

For international deliveries of products, deliveries must include a proforma invoice. Here is a corresponding file with information already included and an information sheet for correct use of the document.

 

My delivery is stuck in customs. What can I do?

Please send a corresponding message to logistics@red-dot.de and state your PI code and the name of your product. We will take care of it.

 

Adjudication

 

When does the adjudication take place?

The adjudication takes place at the beginning of March 2018.

 

How do the jury members evaluate the submissions?

In an evaluation process that spans several days, the international jury members test, discuss and assess each individual entry without any preselection. Thereby, the products are not compared with each other, but are evaluated on an individual basis.

 

Can I present my product on site?

It is not possible to you to present your product on site.

 

When will I receive my result?

Three weeks after adjudication, we will inform you of the result via e-mail. Please note that a communications embargo is still in place until this date. You are only free to communicate news of your success after 9 April 2018.

 

Collection of the products after adjudication

 

My product did not win an award. Do I have to collect it?

All products that do not win an award must be collected by participants in the period from 19 to 28 March 2018 unless you have already stated during registration in the My Red Dot portal that you wish to donate your product or that it should be disposed of.

 

My product won an award. Do I have to collect it?
Your awarded product will be stored until the beginning of the special exhibition. This does not apply to the products that participants assemble themselves for the adjudication. They will be requested again in advance of the special exhibition.

 

Where do I have to pick up my product?

Please collect the products between 10 am and 4 pm from the following address:

Design Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen e.V.
Red Dot Judging Hall
Witzlebenstr. 14
45472 Mülheim an der Ruhr

 

Please note that we can only hand back your product in return for your PI code.

 

Costs & payment

 

What are the fees for registering for the Red Dot Award: Product Design?

The registration fee depends on the date on which the products are registered. You can find an overview here.

  

Could additional costs be incurred?

If your product is larger than 1 m³, additional costs will be incurred for oversized goods. If you submit additional exhibits to supplement your participating product, EUR 60 will be charged for each exhibit (plus VAT). Additional material, e.g. a product video that supplements your product presentation, will also be subject to a non-recurring lump-sum fee of EUR 60 (plus VAT).

 

What costs are incurred if my product wins an award?

If you win an award, you must order a Winner Package. You can find an overview of the costs of ordering it here.

 

Am I liable to pay tax on the payment for the competition?

The payment for the competition is taxable and liable to tax in Germany even if your company is domiciled in an EU member state or elsewhere abroad. There is no tax exemption rule for this payment, but foreign companies do have the possibility of getting a VAT refund.

 

The award

 

What are the benefits of winning a Red Dot?

The Red Dot is the prize for good design quality. If your product wins a Red Dot, you have the option to advertise using the Red Dot label, which constitutes an ideal communication tool which thanks to its global reach and visibility raises the market profile of designs that have won the award. In addition, all award-winning products are presented in the Red Dot Design Yearbook and in the Red Dot Design Museum Essen as well as in the Online Presentation, on Red Dot 21 and in the Red Dot App.

 

When am I allowed to start communicating news of my award?

We would like to ensure that the results are communicated at around the same time. For this reason, we would ask you not to announce your award before 9 April 2018. We will provide you with a customisable template for a press release to support your PR efforts.

 

How long can I use the Red Dot label for?

You can use the label as soon as the communications embargo has been lifted and you have ordered the Winner Package. The logo can be used for the duration of the life cycle of the prize-winning product.

 

What do I have to consider regarding the Red Dot Design Yearbook?

Please note that if you win an award, the details and photos you provide will be used for the production of the Red Dot Design Yearbook.

Teilnahmebedingungen

 

Welche Produkte kann ich anmelden?

Sie können alle industriell gefertigten Produkte für den Wettbewerb anmelden, die auf dem freien Markt zu erwerben sind und die nach dem 01.01.2016 bzw. bis zum 01.07.2018 eingeführt wurden. Handwerklich gefertigte Unikate sind von der Teilnahme ausgeschlossen. Es stehen Ihnen in diesem Jahr 48 Kategorien zur Verfügung – von Wohn- und Sitzmöbeln, über Licht und Leuchten bis hin zu Mode- und Lifestyle-Accessoires sowie Robotertechnik.

 

Kann ich Prototypen anmelden?

Prototypen sind zugelassen, sofern das Produkt bis zum 01.07.2018 auf dem Markt eingeführt wird. Zum Zeitpunkt der Jurierung  müssen die Prototypen bereits funktionstüchtig und serienreif sein. Erfolgt die Markteinführung zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt, empfehlen wir Ihnen, Ihre Prototypen zum Red Dot Award: Design Concept anzumelden.

 

Wie viele Anmeldungen kann ich vornehmen?

Jeder Teilnehmer kann beliebig viele Produkte anmelden. Für jede Einreichung muss eine separate Anmeldung abgeschlossen werden.

 

Kann ich ein Produkt in mehreren Kategorien gleichzeitig anmelden?

Sie können ein Produkt in mehreren Kategorien gleichzeitig einreichen, jedoch nicht innerhalb einer Kategorie in mehreren Unterkategorien anmelden. Für jede Kategorie muss eine eigene Anmeldung abgeschlossen werden. Pro Anmeldung müssen Sie uns ein Produktexemplar und ggf. weiteres Präsentationsmaterial für die Jurierung zusenden.

 

Kann ich Produktserien anmelden?

Produktserien können in Ausnahmefällen, wie zum Beispiel bei Geschirr, Besteck oder Stuhlserien, zu einer Anmeldung zusammengefasst werden. Das bedeutet, dass Sie nicht jedes Element der Serie einzeln anmelden müssen. Zu beachten ist jedoch, dass nur Exponate, die der Jury vorgestellt wurden, im Falle einer Auszeichnung mit dem Red Dot-Logo beworben werden können. Planen Sie also eine ganze Serie mit der Auszeichnung zu bewerben, so sollten Sie der Jury alle Serienelemente vorstellen. Für jedes zusätzliche Exponat belaufen sich die Kosten dabei auf 60 Euro.

 

Anmeldung

 

Wo kann ich mein Produkt zum Red Dot Award: Product Design anmelden?

Über das My Red Dot-Portal können Sie sich für den laufenden Wettbewerb registrieren und die Teilnahmeformulare vervollständigen. Hier finden Sie auch eine Übersicht Ihrer Anmeldungen ebenso wie alle zur Teilnahme notwendigen Dokumente. Sie können die Anmeldung jederzeit unterbrechen und zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt fortsetzen.

 

Was benötige ich, um mein Produkt zum Red Dot Award: Product Design anzumelden?

Um die Anmeldung abzuschließen, benötigen Sie zunächst allgemeine Informationen über das einzureichende Produkt, wie Angaben zum Hersteller und Designer sowie die Rechnungsdaten. Zusätzlich müssen Sie Bildmaterial (300 dpi bei einer Größe von DIN A4) und eine Produktbeschreibung (500 – 1.200 Zeichen inkl. Leerzeichen) hochladen. Dabei sind die Basisinformationen zum Abschluss der Anmeldung zwingend erforderlich, während Bild- und Textmaterialien spätestens bis zum 9. Februar 2018 digital nachgereicht werden können. Eine detaillierte Checkliste mit allen erforderlichen Angaben finden Sie hier.

 

Welche Kategorie sollte ich auswählen?

Wenn Sie bei der Wahl der Kategorie unsicher sind, schauen Sie sich gerne in unserer Online-Präsentation um, die alle ausgezeichneten Produkte, sortiert nach Kategorien, zeigt.

 

Welche Unterkategorie sollte ich auswählen?

Die Unterkategorien dienen der Strukturierung der Hauptkategorien und geben einen Überblick darüber, welche Produkte in den jeweiligen Kategorien eingereicht werden können. Bitte beachten Sie, dass Produkte in den Hauptkategorien ausgezeichnet werden und nicht in den Unterkategorien.

 

Was sollte meine Produktbeschreibung beinhalten?

Um einen ersten Eindruck von einem Produkt zu gewinnen, erhält die Red Dot Jury ein Informationsblatt, das die wichtigsten Daten Ihrer Einreichung sowie eine Beschreibung enthält. Die Beschreibung sollte Ihr Produkt daher kurz und sachlich darstellen und in wenigen Sätzen erklären, was es einzigartig macht. Wir empfehlen, von einer bildlichen Sprache abzusehen und die Beschreibung einfach, präzise und informativ zu halten.

 

Was bedeutet „zusätzliches Material“?

Sie können für jedes eingereichte Produkt zusätzliches Material hochladen, wie Bilder oder Videos, um der Red Dot Jury einen besseren Eindruck Ihres Produktes zu vermitteln. Bitte beachten Sie, dass sich bereits in Ihrem Hauptmaterial enthaltene Informationen nicht wiederholen sollten. Das zusätzliche Material wird der Jury nur auf Anfrage gezeigt. Für zusätzliches Material fallen weitere Kosten an. Einen Überblick finden Sie hier.

 

Was bedeutet „zusätzliche Exponate“?

Um Ihr Produkt der Jury besser präsentieren zu können, besteht die Möglichkeit, zusätzliche Exponate einzureichen. Für zusätzliche Exponate fallen weitere Kosten an. Eine Übersicht dazu finden Sie hier.

 

Versand & Anlieferung

 

Wohin muss ich mein Produkt für die Jurierung liefern?
Nachdem Sie Ihr Produkt im My Red Dot-Portal zum Red Dot Award: Product Design angemeldet haben, muss es für die Jurierung an folgende Adresse geliefert werden:

Design Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen e.V.
Red Dot Judging Hall
Witzlebenstr. 14
45472 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Bitte liefern Sie Fahrzeuge zum Flughafen in Mülheim an der Ruhr.

 

Wer ist mein Ansprechpartner vor Ort?

Ihr Ansprechpartner bezüglich des Versands und der Anlieferung ist Martin Mecklenbeck. Sie erreichen ihn telefonisch unter +49 208 37 77 787 und per E-Mail unter logistics@red-dot.de.

 

Wie lautet die EORI-Nummer?

Die EORI-Nummer lautet DE5870836.

 

Wann kann ich mein Produkt anliefern?

Alle Produkte, die von Ihnen vor Ort montiert/ aufgebaut werden, müssen im Zeitraum vom 29. Januar bis zum 1. Februar 2018 angeliefert werden. Produkte, die keinen Aufbau erfordern, müssen vom 29. Januar bis zum 16. Februar 2018 angeliefert werden. Die Anlieferung ist wochentags von 10:00 Uhr bis 16:00 Uhr möglich. Kraftfahrzeuge müssen am 1. März um 8:00 Uhr am Flughafen in Mülheim sein.

 

Wer baut mein Produkt vor Ort auf?
Die Leistung unseres Logistikteams besteht darin, Sendungen entgegenzunehmen und sie bestmöglich für die Jurierung vorzubereiten. Die Produkte werden vom Team weder zusammengebaut, noch montiert. Können Einreichungen nicht aufgebaut oder vormontiert geliefert werden, müssen Sie diese Leistung selbst erbringen. In diesem Fall können Sie bereits bei der Anmeldung im My Red Dot-Portal die Option „Selbstaufbau“ auswählen und ein eigenes Team für den Aufbau entsenden.

 

Was muss ich bei der Anlieferung beachten?

Bitte achten Sie darauf, dass Ihre Produkte funktionstüchtig angeliefert werden, damit sie während der Jurierung getestet werden können. Für die logistische Erfassung Ihrer Einreichung ist es unbedingt notwendig, dass Sie Ihr Produkt mit dem Ihnen zugesandten PI-Code-Label kennzeichnen. Bitte deklarieren Sie Ihre Ware zudem unter Angabe der passenden Zolltarifnummer und nutzen Sie eine Proformarechnung, die den Wert Ihrer Sendung angibt.

 

Was ist der PI-Code und wo finde ich ihn?

Nach Abschluss der Anmeldung erhalten Sie eine Bestätigungsmail, in dessen Anhang Sie das PI-Code Label finden. Er ist Ihre persönliche Identifikationsnummer für Ihr eingereichtes Produkt. Bitte beziehen Sie sich bei jeder Kommunikation immer auf diesen Code. Den PI-Code müssen Sie vor dem Versand bzw. vor der Anlieferung auf der Rückseite eines physischen Produktes sowie auf der Versandverpackung anbringen. Achten Sie darauf, dass sich der PI-Code rückstandslos entfernen lässt, damit wir das Produkt, im Falle einer Auszeichnung, bestmöglich in der Siegerausstellung präsentieren können.

 

Was muss ich bei besonders großen Produkten beachten?

Wir bitten Sie, uns bei Produkten, die mehr als 4 m³ Platz benötigen, vorab einen Plan zur Präsentation Ihrer Einreichung an logistics@red-dot.de zukommen zu lassen, damit der von Ihnen benötigte Platz entsprechend eingeplant werden kann. Informationen zu den Gebühren für Übergrößen finden Sie hier.

 

Sollte ich eine Transportversicherung abschließen?

Die Produkte/Exponate reisen auf Gefahr und Kosten des Teilnehmers. Wir empfehlen Ihnen daher dringend, eine Transportversicherung abzuschließen.

 

Wie kann ich sicherstellen, dass meine Sendung nicht im Zoll feststeckt?

Für internationale Sendungen von Produkten müssen Lieferungen mit einer Pro-Forma-Rechnung versehen werden. Hier finden Sie eine entsprechende Datei mit bereits hinterlegten Informationen und ein Informationsblatt zur korrekten Verwendung des Dokumentes.

 

Meine Lieferung liegt beim Zoll. Was kann ich tun?

Bitte schreiben Sie eine entsprechende Nachricht an logistics@red-dot.de und geben Sie Ihren PI-Code und den Namen Ihres Produktes an. Wir kümmern uns darum.

 

Jurierung

 

Wann findet die Jurierung statt?

Die Jurierung findet Anfang März 2018 statt.

 

Wie läuft die Jurierung ab?
In einem mehrtägigen Evaluierungsprozess testen, diskutieren und bewerten die internationalen Juroren jede einzelne Einreichung ohne Vorauswahl. Dabei stehen die Produkte nicht in direktem Wettbewerb zueinander, sondern werden individuell beurteilt.

 

Kann ich mein Produkt der Jury persönlich vorstellen?
Das ist leider nicht möglich.

 

Wann erhalte ich mein Ergebnis?

Drei Wochen nach der Jurierung werden Sie von uns per E-Mail über Ihr Ergebnis informiert. Bitte beachten Sie, dass es zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch ein Kommunikationsembargo gibt. Erst ab dem 9. April 2018 können Sie Ihren Erfolg kommunizieren.

 

Abholung der Produkte nach der Jurierung

 

Mein Produkt wurde nicht ausgezeichnet. Muss ich es abholen?

Alle Produkte, die nicht ausgezeichnet werden, müssen von den Teilnehmern im Zeitraum vom 19. bis 28. März 2018 abgeholt werden, sofern Sie nicht bei der Anmeldung im My Red Dot-Portal bereits angegeben haben, dass Sie Ihr Produkt spenden möchten bzw. dass es entsorgt werden soll.

 

Mein Produkt wurde ausgezeichnet. Muss ich es abholen?

Ihr prämiertes Produkt wird von uns bis zur Siegerausstellung eingelagert. Ausgenommen hiervon sind die zur Jurierung durch den Teilnehmer selbst aufgebauten Produkte, die im Zeitraum vom 12. bis zum 16. Februar abgeholt werden müssen. Für die Sonderausstellung werden sie erneut angefordert.

 

Wo muss ich mein Produkt abholen bzw. abholen lassen?

Unter folgender Adresse müssen Sie Ihr Produkt zwischen 10.00 und 16.00 Uhr abholen bzw. abholen lassen:

 

Design Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen e.V.
Red Dot Judging Hall
Witzlebenstr. 14
45472 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Bitte beachten Sie, dass wir Ihnen Ihr Produkt nur unter Angabe Ihres PI-Codes aushändigen können.

 

Kosten & Bezahlung

 

Wie hoch sind die Anmeldegebühren für den Red Dot Award: Product Design?

Die Anmeldegebühr richtet sich nach dem Anmeldezeitpunkt der eingereichten Produkte. Eine Übersicht finden Sie hier.

 

Können zusätzliche Kosten auf mich zukommen?

Ist Ihr Produkt größer als 1 m³, so fallen Zusatzkosten für Übergrößen an. Wenn Sie zusätzliche Exponate, die Ihr Teilnahmeprodukt ergänzen, einreichen, fallen pro Exponat 60 € (zzgl. MwSt.) an. Zusätzliches Material, z.B. ein Produktvideo, das Ihre Produktpräsentation ergänzt, wird ebenso mit einer einmaligen Aufwandspauschale von 60 € (zzgl. MwSt.) vergütet.

 

Welche Kosten fallen an, wenn mein Produkt ausgezeichnet wird?

Im Falle einer Auszeichnung ist die Buchung des „Winner Packages“ obligatorisch. Eine Übersicht über die Kosten für dessen Buchung finden Sie hier.

 

Ist die Leistung des Wettbewerbes steuerpflichtig?

Die Leistung des Wettbewerbs ist in Deutschland steuerbar und steuerpflichtig, auch wenn Ihr Unternehmen in einem Mitgliedsstaat der EU oder im sonstigen Ausland ansässig ist. Eine Steuerbefreiungsvorschrift gibt es für diese Leistung nicht, aber ausländische Unternehmen haben die Möglichkeit, sich die gezahlte Umsatzsteuer erstatten zu lassen.

 

Auszeichnung

 

Welche Vorteile hat die Auszeichnung mit dem Red Dot?

Der Red Dot ist die Auszeichnung für gute Designqualität. Wird Ihr Produkt mit einem Red Dot ausgezeichnet, haben Sie die Möglichkeit, mit dem Red Dot-Label zu werben, das durch seine weltweite Anerkennung ein ideales Kommunikationsinstrument darstellt und ausgezeichnete Gestaltungen sichtbar auf dem Markt hervorhebt. Außerdem werden alle prämierten Produkte im Red Dot Design Yearbook vorgestellt und im Red Dot Design Museum Essen sowie in der Online-Präsentation, auf Red Dot 21 und in der Red Dot App präsentiert.

 

Ab wann kann ich meine Auszeichnung kommunizieren?

Wir möchten eine möglichst einheitliche Kommunikation der Ergebnisse gewährleisten. Aus diesem Grund bitten wir Sie, Ihre Auszeichnung nicht vor dem 9. April 2018 zu kommunizieren. Um Ihre PR zu unterstützen, stellen wir Ihnen eine individualisierbare Vorlage für eine Pressemitteilung zur Verfügung.

 

Wie lange darf ich das Red Dot-Label verwenden?

Sobald das Kommunikationsembargo aufgehoben ist und Sie das Winner Package gebucht haben, können Sie das Siegerlabel verwenden. Die Dauer der Nutzung entspricht dem Lebenszyklus des ausgezeichneten Produktes.

 

Was muss ich in Bezug auf das Red Dot Design Yearbook beachten?

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die bei der Anmeldung von Ihnen angegebenen Daten im Falle einer Auszeichnung für die Produktion des Red Dot Design Yearbooks verbindlich verwendet werden