About the Red Dot Award: Product Design


Red Dot Award:
Product Design 2015

The Red Dot Design Award, which origins date back to 1955, is now one of the world’s largest and most distinguished design competitions. In order to assess the diversity in the field of design in a thorough and professional manner, the Red Dot Design Award breaks down into disciplines: the “Red Dot Award: Product Design”, “Red Dot Award: Communication Design” and “Red Dot Award: Design Concept”.  About 17,000 participations in 2015 alone document the relevance of the internationally sought-after Red Dot.

In 2015, companies and designers from 56 countries registered to the Red Dot Award: Product Design and grabbed their chance to prove their design ability in an international comparison with renowned designers and up-and-coming talents. Within the competition’s 31 different categories, a total of 4,928 registrations have been submitted. But only the best were awarded.

With growing competitive pressure on the international markets, it is now more important than ever for manufacturers to set themselves apart from the competition by proving quality rather than simply pursuing an aggressive pricing policy. Designers are also benefiting from the award: they are using the Red Dot to present themselves to their clients and as a visual aid that emphasises their own strength.

Über den Red Dot Award: Product Design


Red Dot Award:

Product Design 2015

Der Red Dot Design Award, dessen Ursprünge bis 1955 zurückreichen, ist heute einer der größten und renommiertesten Designwettbewerbe der Welt. Um die Vielfalt im Bereich Design fachgerecht bewerten zu können, unterteilt sich der Wettbewerb in die Disziplinen „Red Dot  Award: Product Design“, „Red Dot Award: Communication Design“ und „Red Dot Award: Design Concept“. Rund 17.000 Anmeldungen alleine im Jahr 2015 dokumentieren die Bedeutung des international begehrten Red Dot.

2015 haben sich Unternehmen und Designer aus 56 Ländern beim Red Dot Award: Product Design beworben und so die Chance ergriffen, ihr gestalterisches Können im internationalen Vergleich mit renommierten Designern und aufstrebenden Talenten unter Beweis zu stellen. In 31 verschiedenen Wettbewerbskategorien wurden insgesamt 4.928 Produkte eingereicht, ausgezeichnet wurden aber nur die Besten.

Mit wachsendem Konkurrenzkampf auf den internationalen Märkten ist es für Hersteller heute wichtiger denn je, eine positive Abgrenzung durch den Beweis der eigenen Qualität gegenüber reiner Preisaggressivität zu erreichen. Auch Designer profitieren von der Auszeichnung: Mit dem Red Dot präsentieren sie sich vor ihren Auftraggebern und vergegenwärtigen die eigene Stärke.