Red Dot Design Museum Essen

 

The Red Dot Design Museum Essen in Germany is located in the former boiler house of the coal mine “Zeche Zollverein” which has been a UNESCO world heritage site since 2001. It is one of the most impressive industrial buildings of the first half of the 20th century and was converted by the star architect Lord Norman Foster for its new purpose. With about 2,000 exhibits over an area exceeding 4,000 square metres, the Red Dot Design Museum Essen presents the world’s largest exhibition of contemporary design to around 150,000 visitors each year.

The tradition each year is to celebrate the final highlight of the Red Dot Award: Product Design, the Designers’ Night, in this “cathedral of industrial culture”. The legendary party not only combines unique architecture and modern product design, but also brings the proud Red Dot winners together with representatives from business and the media, and marks the launch of an exclusive special exhibition: Over a period of several weeks, the latest winning objects of the Red Dot Award: Product Design are presented to the visitors of the Red Dot Design Museum Essen in the exhibition “Design on Stage” before they become a part of the permanent exhibition for at least one year.

» Website Red Dot Design Museum Essen


Red Dot Design Museum Singapore

 

The Asian region offers a large number of future markets, is pulsating with energy and has a huge reservoir of creativity and innovative ideas. In 2005, the Red Dot Design Museum in Singapore was established at the Maxwell Road. On 19 October 2017, the Museum opened its doors at the present location at the Marina Bay. It is a key attraction of the beautiful bay in the south of Singapore and it is the only night museum across the country that opens until 2.00 a.m. in the morning. 

The building used to be the Marina Bay City Gallery showcasing the history of Singapore’s urban transformation and the development of Marina Bay. After some transformations, the iconic edifice now includes several galleries and showcases an exhibition of over 345 futuristic concepts, awarded in the Red Dot Award: Design Concept.

» Website Red Dot Design Museum Singapore

Red Dot Design Museum Essen

 

Das Red Dot Design Museum Essen befindet sich im früheren Kesselhaus der Zeche Zollverein, die seit 2001 zum UNESCO Welterbe zählt. Es gehört zu den beeindruckendsten Industriebauten der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts und wurde für seinen neuen Zweck vom Stararchitekten Lord Norman Foster umgebaut. Mit etwa 2.000 Exponaten auf einer Fläche von über 4.000 Quadratmetern präsentiert das Red Dot Design Museum Essen den jährlich rund 150.000 Besuchern die größte Ausstellung zeitgenössischen Designs weltweit.

Inmitten dieser „Kathedrale der Industriekultur“ wird jedes Jahr die Designers’ Night, der abschließende Höhepunkt des Red Dot Award: Product Design, gefeiert. Die legendäre Party, bei der nicht nur eine einzigartige Architektur und modernes Produktdesign, sondern auch stolze Red Dot-Sieger und Vertreter aus Wirtschaft und Medien aufeinandertreffen, bildet den Auftakt einer exklusiven Sonderausstellung: Über einen Zeitraum von mehreren Wochen werden die aktuellen Siegerobjekte des Red Dot Award: Product Design den Besuchern des Red Dot Design Museums in der Ausstellung „Design on Stage“ präsentiert, bevor sie für mindestens ein Jahr Teil der permanenten Ausstellung werden.

» Website Red Dot Design Museum Essen


Red Dot Design Museum Singapore

 

Der Großraum Asien bietet unüberschaubar viele Zukunftsmärkte, pulsiert vor Energie und verfügt über ein enormes Reservoir an Kreativität und innovativen Ideen. 2005 wurde das Red Dot Design Museum Singapore an der Maxwell Road eröffnet. Am 19. Oktober 2017 öffnete das Museum seine Türen am aktuellen Standort an der Marina Bay. Es ist eine der Hauptattraktionen entlang der schönen Küste im Süden Singapurs und es ist landesweit das einzige Museum, welches bis 2 Uhr morgens geöffnet hat.

 

Das Gebäude beheimatete bislang die Marina Bay City Gallery, die die Geschichte der urbanen Veränderungen Singapurs und die Entwicklung der Marina Bay zeigte. Nach einigen Veränderungen verfügt das ikonische Bauwerk über mehrere Galerien und zeigt nun eine Ausstellung von über 345 futuristischen Konzepten, die alle beim Red Dot Award: Design Concept ausgezeichnet wurden.

» Website Red Dot Design Museum Singapore